Advocates Corner

Catholic Social Teaching

Seven Themes of Catholic Social Teaching

The Catholic Church has a long history of teaching about building a just society and living lives of holiness. It is rooted in Scripture and is defined in Church documents. The U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops (USCCB) published a summaryof key themes fromthe teaching in “Seven Themes of Catholic Social Teaching” on their website ( The themes are:

1. Life and Dignity of the Human Person
2. Call to Family, Community and Participation
3. Rights and Responsibilities
4. Option for the Poor and Vulnerable
5. The Dignity of Work and the Rights of Workers
6. Solidarity
7. Care of God’s Creation

OMGC/STV Advocates for the Poor and Hungry use this publication to guide our work. The Church, in the first theme, proclaims that human life is sacred and the dignity of the human person is the foundation for a moral society and for all the principles of our social teaching. In the second, USCCB includes: “How we organize our society – in economics and politics, in law and policy – directly affects human dignity…”. We will more fully explain how these themes are used in future articles for this column.